West Sussex County Council

There is a two-tier system of local government in West Sussex, the county council (West Sussex County Council) and the 7 district and borough councils. Generally, WSCC is responsible for the more strategic functions and services such as education and social care whereas the districts and boroughs provide more local services. Some functions are shared between county and district.

WSCC is responsible for:

  • Education
  • Transport, bus services as well as highway maintenance
  • Planning (strategic rather than household)
  • Fire and public safety
  • Social care
  • Libraries
  • Waste management (recycling centres such as Billingshurst)
  • Trading standards
  • Public rights of way (footpaths and bridleways)


Report problems with roads, pavements and verges directly to WSCC here.

A map showing the area covered by West Sussex County Council

County Councillor

County councillors are the elected representatives of West Sussex County Council. They are elected for four years unless they are elected at a by-election, in which case they must stand again at the next normal election for the seat.
Representing people in West Sussex, understanding issues and concerns and taking action is the most important task that any councillor undertakes.

West Sussex County Council covers a large geographical area, which, from May 2017, will be broken down into 70 electoral divisions. County councillors are elected to serve West Sussex and to specifically represent one of these electoral divisions on the council – making a total of 70 councillors. You can find out about the current political make-up of the council.

Our County Councillor is Mrs Janet Duncton, a Conservative Member elected in May 2017.  Mrs Duncton attends most monthly Parish Council meetings to update on WSCC actions and to receive parish comments and concerns. More information and how to contact Mrs Duncton.