Chichester District Council

There is a two-tier system of local government in West Sussex, the county council (West Sussex County Council) and Chichester District Council. The South Downs National Park also covers the southern section of the Parish in the park, although most services are provided by Chichester. Generally, the county council is responsible for the more strategic functions and services such as education and social care whereas the districts and boroughs provide more local services. Some functions are shared between county and district.

Chichester District Council covers 303 square miles, including Chichester, Selsey, Midhurst and Petworth, with a population of 112,600. The Council works closely with a number of partner, community and voluntary organisations, from West Sussex County Council and parish councils to the South Downs National Park Authority and the Police and deals with around 100 services including:

  • waste and recycling collection;
  • planning and building control; view planning applications here.
  • housing;
  • housing and council tax benefits;
  • sport and leisure;
  • community safety;
  • environmental health;
  • public conveniences;
  • street cleaning;
  • car parks and CCTV;
  • business support and development;
  • coastal protection;
  • abandoned vehicles and fly tipping; report fly tipping here.
  • cemeteries.

For more information, visit the Chichester District Council website.

District Councillor

The Wisborough Green Ward (which includes Kirdford) is represented by
Mr Josef Ransley who lives in Kirdford. Mr Ransley regularly attends the monthly Parish Council meetings to update on District matters and to hear local concerns and regularly produces updates which can be viewed here.

More information and to contact Mr Ransley.